» News

Northern New Mexico Selects Local Award Winners

July 15, 2013 07:25 PM
The Northern New Mexico Tennis Association District selected their 2013 NNMTA Award Recipients at the July Board Meeting.  The winners will be nominated for the SWS Awards in their respective categories.  The local award winners will be honored at the Annual NNMTA Player Appreciation Party to be hosted at Jerry Cline on October 4th, from 6pm to 8pm.  All USTA members are invited to come out for free barbecue, drinks and prizes. 
Southwest Section Award winners will be selected in September.  Recipients of the SWS Awards will be honored at the SWS Annual Meeting in Phoenix on November 16th.
Here are the NNMTA Winners: 
Adult Player of the Year: Kelcy McKenna
Community Tennis Volunteer:  Shelley Barker
Family of the Year:  Dr. Stephen Coleman Family 
Media:  Toby Smith
Member Organization:  Jerry Cline Tennis Center
Tournament Enrichment:  Corey Matney - USTA Southwest Slam Series Indoor
NJTL Chapter:  Belen
Coach of the Year:  Joe Dimas, Rio Grande HS
Outstanding Contributor to USTA League Tennis:  Barbara Cochrane
Dianne Miller Courage in Tennis:  Amy Badger
Gregg Woodruff Sportsmanship Award:  Tim Garcia
Special Recognition "Friend of Court":  Brian Bingham
Special Recognition "Presidents Award":  Joe Butler
Special Recognition "Outstanding Service":   Karen Amond
Junior Male Player of the Year Ted Russell Award:  Michael Tran
Junior Female Player of the Year Mary Margaret Torres Award:  Chloe Lee
Junior Sportsmanship Talbert Award:  Melissa Pick
Boys 16-18 Sportsmanship:  Ben Petry
Girls 16-18 Sportsmanship:  Donna Shockley
Boys 12-14 Sportsmanship:  Kyler Kunzler
Girls 12-14 Sportsmanship:  Libby Vaughan