» News

2012 NNMTA Annual Award Winners Announced

October 31, 2012 01:01 PM
Annually Northern New Mexico honors individuals in the community that have distinguished themselves through their service to the community or through their amazing efforts on the court.  This year we are excited to recognize the following individuals. 
Adult Player of the Year (SWS Award Winner) - Jim Parker

Community Tennis Volunteer of the Year (SWS Award Nominee) - Dick Johnson
Family of the Year (SWS Award Nominee) - Greg and Kathleen Atkin Family

Media Excellence (SWS Award Nominee) - Toby Smith

Member Organization of the Year (SWS Award Nominee) - Four Corners Tennis Association
NJTL Chapter of the Year (SWS Award Nominee) - Belen NJTL

High School Coach of the Year (SWS Award Nominee) - Bruce Cottrell, Los Alamos HS

Outstanding Tournament Enrichment (SWS Award Nominee) - Sandy Salm, Tournament Director from Christina Kent & Robert Soneru, Assistant Tournament Director from Highpoint Sports and Wellness

Outstanding Contributor to USTA League Tennis (SWS Award Nominee) - Joe Felice

Bill Talbert Award (SWS Junior Sportsmanship Award Nominee) - Shepard Moore
Mary Margaret Torres Memorial Award (SWS Female Player of the Year Nominee) - Gabrielle Otero

Ted Russell Memorial Award (SWS Male Player of the Year Nominee) - Michael Tran

Dianne Miller Courage in Tennis (SWS Award Winner)- Shelley Burt
(See Shelley Burt's Inspirational Acceptance of SWS Award by Clicking HERE.)

Greg Woodruff Memorial Award "Adult Sportsmanship" - Mark Davis

Ralph Thompson Memorial Award "Friend of Court" - Pam Sullivan

Mark Hamman Memorial Award "Wheels" - Eamon Byrne

SPECIAL RECOGNITION "Corazon Award" - Sherry Anderson

SPECIAL RECOGNITION "Outstanding Captain" - Marion Colbert

SPECIAL RECOGNITION "Outstanding Referee/Umpire" - Gail Long

SPECIAL RECOGNITION "Presidents Award" - Buster Mabry, NMHS Coach Association

Boys Sportsmanship 12-14 - Julian Lee & Girls Sportsmanship 12-14 - Alexandra Ochotorena

Boys Sportsmanship 16-18 - Sean Baklini & Girls Sportsmanship 16-18 - Susan Baklini
Dick Gorman NTRP Grand Prix Series Women's High Point Award - Amanda Briggs and Pisollaya (Gift) Tanasuriyakiat-McWaters

Dick Gorman NTRP Grand Prix Series Men's High Point Award - Byron Tillman

Dick Gorman NTRP Grand Prix Series Journeyman Award - Byron Tillman
(For a brief description of the individual lives honored by the Memorial Awards noted above, go to the NNMTA website page entitled, "Annual Memorial Award" under the category "About Us". )